Fourth National Conference: Canberra, 1967


Sir Max Bingham
The Fourth Conference was held in Canberra between 28th August and 2nd September, 1967.
Following this conference the Council changed its name to the Australian Crime Prevention, Correction, and After Care Council (ACPAAC) and widened its objects. The then Chief Justice of Australia, Sir Garfield Barwick, and the former Chief Justice, Sir Owen Dixon, were appointed as Patrons, and the Executive, with the Hon. E.M.Bingham M.H.A. (later Sir Max Bingham, pictured) of Tasmania, as President, expanded to 18 members.
The Council then comprised 25 associate members, 20 organizations, 8 police forces, 7 Prisoners aid organizations, and 8 Prison or Parole organizations.

Fifth National Conference: Perth, 1969

The Fifth Conference was held in Perth in August 1969 under the theme “Crime is Your Business- a National perspective”. 144 delegates from all the States of Australia, Northern Territory, Papua and New Guinea, and Hong Kong attended. Overseas guests included Professor Drapin of Israel and Professor Drinkwater from the United Kingdom.
The Conference noted the decision of the Commonwealth government to establish a National Institute of Criminology, and resolved to investigate and report upon alternatives to imprisonment, and to seek grant monies from State and commonwealth governments for the work of the Council.
In 1970 a large delegation from the Council attended the Fourth United Nations Congress on the Prevention of Crime and the Treatment of offenders.

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by