Eighteenth National Conference: Fremantle, 1997

Mr Bill Cullen
The Eighteenth National Conference was held in Fremantle, WA between 8th and 10th October 1997 on the theme “Crime and the Politics of Fear- why we keep doing what doesn't work and how to break the cycle”.
The National Executive then comprised Mr Bill Cullen (President, WA, pictured right),Mr Michael Benes (Vice President, Victoria), Ms Marjorie Gosling (Secretary, WA), Ms Karen Fuller (Treasurer, WA) Judge Andrew Wilson (Past President, SA), Ms Judy Johnson (NSW), Mr Clive Begg (Qld) Mr Peter Bayman (WA) Ms Helen Nichols (SA) and Mr Ken Newman (NT), with Dr Paul Omaji (WA) and Dr Geoff Asher (Vic) as Journal Editors.
The Conference was opened by the Federal Minister for Justice, Senator Amanda Vanstone, and guest speakers included Professor Lawrence Sherman (Chair of the Department of criminology and Criminal Justice at the University of Maryland), Prof. Richard Harding (Director of the Crime Research Centre, University of WA), Hon Trevor Griffin (SA Attorney general) Mr Bob Falconer (Commissioner of Police, WA) Mr Ian Viner QC (Vice Chairperson, Aboriginal Reconciliation Council) and Dr Adam Graycar (Director, Australian Institute of Criminology).
The Conference themes included “Are modern Liberal Democratic Societies doomed to increasingly unacceptable levels of crime?” “Are we too soft on criminals” “How effective is punishment as a deterrent?” “Are Governments organized to promote a crime free society or do they just react to crime” “What role does the media play” and “Is it possible to free up the resources currently allocated to criminal justice for other more productive initiatives”.
The keynote address of Prof. Sherman was a discussion of the evaluation of over $3 billion Annual Funding for Crime prevention Programs undertaken in the USA.


Nineteenth National Conference: Melbourne, 1999

Prof Michael Benes
The Nineteenth National Conference was held in Melbourne between 17 and 20 October 1999. The Governor of Victoria, Sir James Gobbo, opened the Conference. The President of the Council at this time was Prof Michael Benes (pictured).
Speakers at the conference included Dr Gloria Laycock, Head of Policing and Reducing Crime Unit, home Office UK, Mr Peter Harmsworth, Secretary Dept of Justice Victoria, Dr David Brereton, Director, Criminal Justice Commission, My Yvonne Korn, Director, National Crime Prevention AG Dept Canberra, Mr Neil Comrie, Chief Commissioner, Victoria Police,Professor Don Robertson, Director University of West Sydney, Justice Frank Vincent, Supreme Court of Victoria, Dr Peter Grabowsky, Director of Research AIC, Dr Adam Graycar, Director AIC, Prof Arie Freiberg, Dept of Criminology, University of Melbourne, Mr Ray Carroll, Executive Director, National Motor Vehicle Theft reduction Council, and Dr Adam Sutton, Dept of Criminology, Melbourne University.

Mr Peter Norman
During this conference Mr Peter Norman of Adelaide was elected as National President (pictured left).
By this time some of the State branches had closed. A tele-link meeting was subsequently held to discuss the future of the Council and the need for reform of its activities.
Subsequent meetings and discussions led to the formation of a new Council and it became incorporated as a formal Association.
A new National Executive was formed with representatives from all of the States and territories, a new Constitution commissioned and a Strategic Plan prepared to set goals for the future.
In contrast with the previous position, the new Constitution allowed for membership of State Branches, individuals or organizations. This would facilitate persons or organizations resident in States or Territories where there were no branches, to have direct membership of the National body.

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by JoomlaShine.com