Fifteenth National Conference: Wollongong, 1991

Mr Clive Begg

The Council's Biennial Conference “Crime Prevention- Community Fear or Community Safety” was held in Wollongong between 2nd and 6th September 1991 and opened by the Governor of NSW, Rear Admiral Peter Sinclair. Mr Neil Whiskin, Chief Executive of “Crime Concern” gave the Keynote Address “Perspectives of Crime Prevention- The Involvement of Non Government Organisations”.
 30 key resolutions were passed by the Conference.
 At the conclusion of the Conference Mr Clive Begg of Queensland (pictured) was elected as National President with Judge Andrew Wilson of South Australia as Vice President, Mr John King of Queensland as Secretary and Mr Ashley Reid as Treasurer.

Sixteenth National Conference: Brisbane, 1993

The Sixteenth National Conference was held in Queensland between September 21 and 24, 1993, under the theme “Chaos or Reason-Community Safety in the Twenty-First Century”.
The Executive then comprised Mr Clive Begg (President) Justice Purvis (Past president) Judge Wilson (Vice President) Mr John King (Secretary) Mr Ashley Reid (Treasurer) and Prof Don Robertson (NSW) Mr Michael Benes (Vic) and Mr Bill Cullen (WA). Guest Speakers at the Conference included Professor Ezzat Fattah (Professor in Criminology at the Simon Fraser University, Canada), Dr Irwin Waller (Vice President of the World Society of Victimology) Mr Kevin Gill (Lead Youth Consultant, Crime Concern, United Kingdom) and many others.
In his address at the Opening of the Conference, Hon Glen Milliner, Queensland Minister for Corrective services, observed that every government in Australia, from the Federal Government to the states and local authorities had to concentrate on crime prevention, observing that Corrective Services were only part of that process, prison was the last resort, and police forces were only marginally ahead in the crime prevention process. He said that he despaired every time someone espoused the theory that if jails were tougher, and penalties were harsher, the crime problem would be overcome. History, he said, taught that this was rubbish, as was the notion that legislation could prevent crime. He said that Governments must realise that short term political mileage would mean long-term suffering.
He said that the Council had a mammoth job to do and that government support to it would range from whole-hearted to spasmodic. The challenge for the Council, he said, was to get community support and to do this it must have media attention and support.
In his paper, Judge Wilson said that the Council should consider changing its role to focus more on the encouragement of research into, evaluation of, and action to implement crime prevention strategies and programs.

Seventeenth National Conference: Adelaide and Burra, 1995

Judge Wilson

Jack Calhoun, Adelaide (1995)
The Seventeenth National Conference was held at Adelaide and Burra, South Australia, between November 19 and 24, 1995 under the theme “Crime Prevention beyond 2000- You Can Make A Difference”. The National Executive then comprised Judge Wilson (President, pictured right) Mr Bill Cullen (WA- Vice President), Ms Helen Nichols (SA, Secretary), Mr D Bowyer (Treasurer) Mr Clive Begg (Qld) and Prof. Don Robertson (Journal Editor).
 Guests included Mr Jack Calhoun, Executive Director of the National Crime prevention Council, USA, and the themes of the conference included general issues, special interest groups including Security and Crime Prevention by public instrumentalities, Neighbourhood Watch and related Schemes,
Community policing, road safety and car related crimes, youth justice and education, prisons, community corrections and offender rehabilitation services, and the sentencing and treatment of the offender.

Eighteenth National Conference: Fremantle, 1997

Mr Bill Cullen
The Eighteenth National Conference was held in Fremantle, WA between 8th and 10th October 1997 on the theme “Crime and the Politics of Fear- why we keep doing what doesn't work and how to break the cycle”.
The National Executive then comprised Mr Bill Cullen (President, WA, pictured right),Mr Michael Benes (Vice President, Victoria), Ms Marjorie Gosling (Secretary, WA), Ms Karen Fuller (Treasurer, WA) Judge Andrew Wilson (Past President, SA), Ms Judy Johnson (NSW), Mr Clive Begg (Qld) Mr Peter Bayman (WA) Ms Helen Nichols (SA) and Mr Ken Newman (NT), with Dr Paul Omaji (WA) and Dr Geoff Asher (Vic) as Journal Editors.
The Conference was opened by the Federal Minister for Justice, Senator Amanda Vanstone, and guest speakers included Professor Lawrence Sherman (Chair of the Department of criminology and Criminal Justice at the University of Maryland), Prof. Richard Harding (Director of the Crime Research Centre, University of WA), Hon Trevor Griffin (SA Attorney general) Mr Bob Falconer (Commissioner of Police, WA) Mr Ian Viner QC (Vice Chairperson, Aboriginal Reconciliation Council) and Dr Adam Graycar (Director, Australian Institute of Criminology).
The Conference themes included “Are modern Liberal Democratic Societies doomed to increasingly unacceptable levels of crime?” “Are we too soft on criminals” “How effective is punishment as a deterrent?” “Are Governments organized to promote a crime free society or do they just react to crime” “What role does the media play” and “Is it possible to free up the resources currently allocated to criminal justice for other more productive initiatives”.
The keynote address of Prof. Sherman was a discussion of the evaluation of over $3 billion Annual Funding for Crime prevention Programs undertaken in the USA.


Nineteenth National Conference: Melbourne, 1999

Prof Michael Benes
The Nineteenth National Conference was held in Melbourne between 17 and 20 October 1999. The Governor of Victoria, Sir James Gobbo, opened the Conference. The President of the Council at this time was Prof Michael Benes (pictured).
Speakers at the conference included Dr Gloria Laycock, Head of Policing and Reducing Crime Unit, home Office UK, Mr Peter Harmsworth, Secretary Dept of Justice Victoria, Dr David Brereton, Director, Criminal Justice Commission, My Yvonne Korn, Director, National Crime Prevention AG Dept Canberra, Mr Neil Comrie, Chief Commissioner, Victoria Police,Professor Don Robertson, Director University of West Sydney, Justice Frank Vincent, Supreme Court of Victoria, Dr Peter Grabowsky, Director of Research AIC, Dr Adam Graycar, Director AIC, Prof Arie Freiberg, Dept of Criminology, University of Melbourne, Mr Ray Carroll, Executive Director, National Motor Vehicle Theft reduction Council, and Dr Adam Sutton, Dept of Criminology, Melbourne University.

Mr Peter Norman
During this conference Mr Peter Norman of Adelaide was elected as National President (pictured left).
By this time some of the State branches had closed. A tele-link meeting was subsequently held to discuss the future of the Council and the need for reform of its activities.
Subsequent meetings and discussions led to the formation of a new Council and it became incorporated as a formal Association.
A new National Executive was formed with representatives from all of the States and territories, a new Constitution commissioned and a Strategic Plan prepared to set goals for the future.
In contrast with the previous position, the new Constitution allowed for membership of State Branches, individuals or organizations. This would facilitate persons or organizations resident in States or Territories where there were no branches, to have direct membership of the National body.

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by