National Executive Meeting, 30 August 2008

Left to right around table, Admiral Chris Barrie (President) ; Leigh Garrett (SA); Judge Andrew Wilson (former President); Andrew Paterson (Secretary); Rob Motteram (Treasurer); Garner Clancy (back to camera, NSW)
The Council held a National Executive meeting in Adelaide on Saturday 30 August, followed by a dinner in the evening. At the meeting the Council welcomed the new President, Admiral Barrie, and planned for future activities.

Visit of Professor Irvin Waller

Professor Irwin Waller and ACPC Secretary Andrew Paterson
During the week of 22 September 2008 Professor Irvin Waller visited South Australia . He was key note speaker at the National Victim Support Conference and met with interested politicians, media and the Commissioner for Social Inclusion. He also addressed public meetings and workshops to promote the “Less law-more order” view of Justice.
Professor Waller met Chairman Peter Norman and Secretary Andrew Paterson to discuss crime prevention strategy and promotion.

December 2008 : Visit of Judge Farrell of the New York Gambling Court

Judge Mark Farrell of the New York “Gambling Court” also visited Adelaide, in early December 2008. The Gambling and Crime Subcommittee of the SA branch of ACPC had raised significant funds to sponsor his visit. Judge Farrell addressed the National Association of Gambling Studies National Conference in Adelaide, held workshops and public meetings, and met the South Australian Premier, Minister Zollo, Judges, Magistrates, and OARS representatives to promote the concept of a diversionary Court for problem gamblers.

New ACPC President and Vice President

Admiral Chris Barrie AC RAN Rtd.
In 2008 Admiral Barrie was appointed as the Council's President. Admiral Barrie was Chief of Australia's Defence Force between 1988 and 2002. He is presently a Visiting Fellow at the Strategic Defence Studies Centre at the Australian National University. He holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree with a special focus on International Relations and a Master of Business Administration by Deakin University.
The Council also appointed a new Vice President, Associate Professor Adam Sutton of the School of Political Science, Sociology and Criminology of the University of Melbourne. Asst Professor Sutton's research and teaching interests are criminology and crime policy, crime prevention, drug law enforcement and white-collar crime, and he has published in each of these fields. Asst Professor Sutton was previously Director of South Australia's Office of Crime Statistics and Director of Crime Prevention.
Peter Norman remained as Chairman and Vice President.

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by